Have a Thankful Heart

Happy Thanksgiving,  y’all! I sincerely hope that you realize just how much you have to be thankful for today as you are spending time with your family and friends. Tell those around you how much you love and appreciate them, and how thankful you are to have them in your life. Hearing that can never get old, even if you think they already know. As you fill your bellies to your heart’s content, be thankful for your body and all it does for you. We take our bodies and health for granted every single day. Be thankful for what it enables you to do each day. Don’t rush through this day. Enjoy it. 

 

What am I thankful for, you ask? So many things. I literally have more things to be thankful for in my life right now than I can count. However, my family, friends, and fabulous fiance (love that alliteration, there, don’t you?) top the list. The number of people in my life that support and encourage me on a daily basis is just amazing. I’m also thankful for God placing it on my heart to make the search for what is a healthy lifestyle for me. A few years back I was a 27 year old weighing in at 200 lbs, with hypertension and high cholesterol, among a number of other health concerns. Now I’m breaking strides to be healthier than I have ever been. It’s all because He opened my eyes, and He gives me the strength to challenge this body every single day. 

What do YOU have to be thankful for? I’d really love to hear!

 

Want to know what I’m contributing to our family get-together today? Well, I’ve been a baker for a while and over the past couple years I’ve become known for my fabulous pumpkin cake. See, it’s a spiced pumpkin cake, torted, with cinnamon cream cheese in between all 4 layers, topped with a praline sauce drizzled over the top and down the sides. Is your mouth watering? It should be. So my only concern with making this a gluten-free goodie was the cake part itself! I searched all over for a good recipe, and thank goodness I found it. A blog called Gluten Free Goddess had one posted, so I took it and tweaked it just a tad. Her original recipe can be found HERE. Instead of making it a sheet cake, I made it into a layer cake. Each recipe made one 10 inch pan, so I basically doubled it. Instead of making my own flour, I bought King Arthur’s Gluten Free Baking Mix at Ingles grocery store. I also added Jello Pumpkin Spice pudding mix (1 box) to each recipe. When I couldn’t stop eating the raw batter (I know, I know), I knew it was going to be as good as the original, if not better. You see, no one else in my family is on the gluten-free ship, and if I told them that the cake was gluten-free, I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t eat it. So, we are going to see what they have to say today! Try it out. It’s amazing. Please understand that by no means does gluten-free mean it is healthy, though! This is still a treat that should be enjoyed sparingly, if you are concerned about sugars, weight loss, etc. But please do enjoy, it is indeed so delicious. I’ll let you know what my family had to say in my next post. 

Leave a Reply

